I read a lot of books, especially when I am traveling. I may review ones that seem relevant, but if you are interested I keep a reading list on my LinkedIn profile. I thought this book was a good one to read while I was in Bangalore last week.

The White Tiger, by Aravind Adiga is a book about a young man from India growing up to be an entrepreneur. This book doesn’t have a subtitle but it should have one like this: “The world is not as flat as Tom Friedman thinks it is”. This book is an irreverent and fairly cutting look at India society. The White Tiger, the protagonist and narrator, takes a pretty unusual path to become an entrepreneur, rising from a village tea shop to a driver in Delhi to having his own business.

The book is written from the point of view of the narrator writing a letter to Chinese Premier Jiabao shortly before his visit to Bangalore. This paragraph, on the second page, gives you an idea of the flavor of the book to come: “Apparently, sir, you Chinese are far ahead of us in any respect, except that you don’t have entrepreneurs. And our nation, though it has no drinking water, electricity, sewage system, public transportation, sense of hygiene, discipline, courtesy or punctuality, does have entrepreneurs. “

It’s a funny book, but like Slumdog, just enjoy it for the story.

