I haven’t been very good about keeping the blog up to date this summer. I have a lot of things I want to write about but it hasn’t been high enough priority with my limited time for Acara. But that should change now I hope. Last week was my last at Honeywell. I resigned to devote full time to the Acara Institute. It’s a decision a long time in the making, actually Acara was started for that purpose (at least for me) but after 27 years at Honeywell, it was a big step. I always enjoyed my job at Honeywell since I was almost always in a position to define to a large extent what I did. And with a big global and diverse company, there was always a lot of variety. That freedom (and responsibility) to define areas to work on, was good experience for developing my two non-profits. And there was also a lot I learned from High Tech Kids and Acara that filtered back to my management at Honeywell.
Acara is working on a partnership with the Institute on the Environment at the University of Minnesota for next year’s challenge. Part of that partnership is basically making me a zero-salary employee of the U. That gives me an office there and IT access, which is great. Now I just need to work on the salary part.
I’ve also resigned from the HTK board, so really for the first time in 10 years, I only have one job. It’s weird but nice.
